Computers

amos hames

Dedicated Member
In this Day of smartphones and I pads things are so advanced. Can anyone remember their first ever Computer or console. I seem to remember mine being a Commerdore VC 20. Then a Sinclair spectrum 48 k. A few games consoles right up to present day. What were everyones first Computer.

I Think my first was a Sinclair ZX81 and for a while I had the loan of a commodore pet

Early on my kids were given a radio shack (trs-80 ???) that
was just a bulky keyboard that plugged into a tv.

Our first real PC was an original IBM PC (no hard drive)
that cost some thousands back then.

Now we have some 6 or 8 desktops and 2 laptops
scattered about.

The first computer I seen was in 1979, I was a freshman in high school. A distant cousin was a math teacher, and he had the schools first Apple computer. All I seen was monitor and key board. I remember him turning it on, and I asked him what it was suppose to do!? Of course , all I seen was a cursor, and it was blinking on the small 13 inch monitor. Remember him saying computers were way of the furture!!

Mid 1980s I acquired an Amstrad PCW 8512. Used virtually exclusively for word processing - it included the Locoscript word processing program. I recall it had 3 inch floppies which were non-standard.

In 1990 I moved on to an Elonex 386 SX16 with Windows 3.0. I recall deliberating over whether to buy the cheaper but older 286 model - the 386 was relatively new to UK market. I recall that DOS was on two 720KB 3.5 inch diskettes and Windows 3 was on four 1.44MB diskettes. The machine also had the older 5 and 1/4 inch drive, long since gone, but they were real floppies.

The first one I owned was an IBM model that didn't catch on very well. Maybe an IBM PS/2, around 1989. The first personal computer I ever used, though, was an early Apple, at the public library, around 1981 or '82.