Speeding over the years

maltrab

Administrator
Staff member
When I was a young driver,many many years ago I would get pulled up for exceeding the speed limit by a few miles over the limit,the policeman would give me a short lecture and warn me if he spotted me again it would be a fine via the courts, this would sure make me more aware of my speed.

Some years later if you did speed you would probably get caught by a camera and pay a fixed penalty and points on your licence and often the cameras would set be at least 10% over the limit,often much higher as they used film and in a busy location it could run out of film in no time at all. There has been the argument that for many years many cameras have just been revenue earners,near where I live now is a dual carriageway that used be to 70 mph, they then reduced it to 50 mph and lo and behold speed cameras were installed, yet there are many minor side roads off this dual carriageway,some not much wider than a car where you can do 60mph, these side roads often have sharp bends,farm traffic,people out for walks etc, so how can it be unsafe to travel more than 50mph on the dual carriageway, yet do 60 mph in these lanes, so maybe the revenue argument is valid in some cases.